
IMPORTANT INFORMATION CONCERNING  
YOUR RETIREE HEALTH BENEFIT

Effective July 1, 2011 legislation was enacted that changes the current premium contribution 
charged for health coverage to State of New Hampshire retirees and their spouses who are 
ineligible for Medicare parts A & B. 
The law directs the New Hampshire Retirement System to deduct 12.5% of the monthly premium 
rate per person from the retiree’s pension account for each covered retiree and covered spouse. 
For retirees who do not have a pension or whose pensions are insufficient to cover the new 
contribution amount, the Department of Administrative Services will send an invoice each month.  

Contribution amounts effective from July 1, 2011 through  
December 31, 2011 are as follows:

Retiree Only Monthly Premium Rate: $910.41 X 12.5% = $113.80 per month
Retiree and Spouse Monthly Premium Rate $1823.81 X 12.5% = $227.98 per month

Please note: The monthly premium rate is recalculated each calendar year to reflect expected 
claims experience and health plan design. Therefore, each January the 12.5% premium contribution 
amount may increase or decrease depending upon the plan’s projected experience. 

The New Hampshire Retirement System will begin taking the new premium contribution 
amount from pension benefits beginning with the July 2011 pension checks.

For additional questions, contact Judy Shevlin at the Division of Personnel by email at  
judy.shevlin@nh.gov or by telephone at (603) 271-1432.


