	GENERAL INFORMATION AND STATEWIDE POLICIES

	
	
	

	Reviewed
	Topic
	Detail

	 
	10 Paid Calendar Year Holidays
	Must be on approved pay status the scheduled work day before and the next regular scheduled work day following to receive holiday pay

	 
	American's With Disabilities Act
	Reasonable Accommodation Policy www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/policy.html 

	 
	Annual & Sick Leave Accruals
	For first year you will accrue one day of annual leave and 1 1/4 day of sick leave per month.  Accrual begins one month after date of hire.  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/cba/cba_sea.html 

	 
	Annual Performance Evaluations
	The evaluation is based on individual performance as it relates to the accountabilities outlined on the supplemental job description

	 
	Civil Leave
	An employee shall be granted civil leave without loss of pay or annual leave when performing jury duty or when subpoenaed to appear before a court, public body or administrative tribunal

	 
	Compensatory or Overtime
	Must be pre-approved.  For compensatory time - non-exempt is paid at time and a half after 40 hours and exempt is paid at straight time over 40 hours

	 
	Employee Manual/Handbook
	If applicable, add location if on computer

	 
	Family and Medical Leave Act
	Employer designated leave is available to employees that have worked for 12 months and 1250 hours.  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/fmla/fmla.html 

	 
	Floating Holiday
	Accrue two per year - one on July 1 and one on January 1.  Floating holidays need to be used during the two fiscal years covered by the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

	 
	Increment/Step Increase Date
	An employee shall be eligible for an increment with satisfactory annual performance evaluations for the time period evaluated (Two (2) years if hired at Step 5) from the date of hire

	 
	Initial Probationary Period
	Initial year of employment in the same classification title; any full-time employee who voluntarily transfers to any vacancy prior to the completion of the probationary period shall be required to begin a new probationary period

	 
	Leave Balance Information
	Usually posted on your bi-weekly pay check stub.  Check with your agency.

	 
	Military Leave
	A full-time employee is entitled to 15 days of paid military leave per training year to engage in temporary active duty.  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/policy.html 

	 
	Personnel Appeals Board
	www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/appeals.html 

	 
	State of New Hampshire Policy on Sexual Harassment
	Applies to all State of New Hampshire employees – Revised August 2006.  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/sxharas.html  

	 
	Statewide Domestic Violence Policy
	Applies to all State of New Hampshire employees – implemented in October 2000.  www.doj.nh.gov/victim/domestic_violence_workplace.html 

	 
	Wage Schedule
	Eight (8) steps within salary grade – move through Steps 1-4 in one-year increments; remain at Steps 5 and 6 for two years; Step 7 for 3 years Maximum is Step 8.  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/comp.html 

	 
	Work Hours and Schedule
	Specific to position and work unit

	
	
	

	BENEFITS AND SERVICES

	
	
	

	Reviewed
	Topic
	Detail

	 
	Anthem Life Insurance
	State paid group term life insurance of $20,000.  
Contact within 30 days of hire date  1-866-227-4005 or visit  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/life_insurance.html

	 
	Deferred Compensation
	Great West Retirement System; pretax savings plan  
57 North Main St, 2 Capitol Plaza, Suite 307, Concord, NH 03301 1-877-457-3535.  https://nhdcp.gwrs.com/login.do   

	 
	Employee Assistance Program
	Thayer Building, Pleasant Street, Concord;  

1-800-852-3345 x 4336 or 603-271-4336 www.dhhs.state.nh.us/DHHS/EAP 

	 
	Flexible Spending Arrangement
	Pre-tax medical and dependent care flexible spending plan 
1-888-227-9745 ext 2040 or www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/flexible_spending.html 

EBM 1-888-269-2744 within 60 days of hire.

	 
	Health and Dental 
CHOICELINX 
	Provide plan details and contact information; 
Anthem 1-800-933-8415

Delta Dental 1-800-537-1715

online enrollment through CHOICELINX www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/choicelineindex.html  

	 
	Health Reimbursement Account
	Up to $200 reimbursed per calendar year upon completion of the Health Assessment Tool via www.Anthem.com  

	 
	New Hampshire Retirement System
	7% mandatory retirement for new hires, deduction stays at 5% for transfer employees if that is the rate they are eligible to receive; www.nhrs.org 603-410-3500 or 
1-877-600-0158 e-mail info@nhrs.org 

	 
	NH Federal Credit Union
	$30 to join – branch offices in Durham, Concord, Keene, Plymouth with ATM on Main Street, Concord

	 
	Pharmacy Plan - Local Government Center, Caremark and EyeMed 
	Call 1-888-726-1630 or TDD 1-800-231-4403 or email 
Caremark Customer Care at customerservice@caremark.com 

Local Government Center Member Services SONH@nhlgc.org   or visit www.eyemedvisioncare.com,  

	 
	NH Rideshare is a FREE commuter matching service provided by the NH Department of Transportation and dedicated to finding an alternative way for commuters to travel to and from work.
	www.nh.gov/dot/nhrideshare/index.htm

	 
	State Employees Association (SEA); NH Troopers Association or NE Police Benevolent Association
	Full union membership or agency fee requirement as a condition of employment (if applicable)

	 
	Treasury Direct for Savings Bond
	www.nh.gov/treasury/index.html  

	 
	Unique College Savings Plan
	Online application, payroll deduction, managed by Fidelity Investments.  www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/collegesavings.html 

	 
	Workers' Compensation
	Required by law to report work related injuries

	
	
	

	

	EMPLOYMENT FORMS

	
	
	

	Complete
	Form
	Comments

	 
	Anthem Life
	 

	 
	Department Specific Form
	 

	 
	Direct Deposit
	 

	 
	I-9
	 

	 
	NH Federal Credit Union
	 

	 
	NH Retirement - Two Forms
	 

	 
	Personal Data Form
	 

	 
	Supplemental Job Description
	 

	 
	Union Payroll Deduction Acknowledgment Form (if applicable)
	 

	 
	W 4
	 

	
	
	

	MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION

	
	
	

	Complete
	 
	Comments

	 
	Department Specific Policies
	 

	 
	
	 

	 
	
	 

	 
	
	 

	 
	Internal Job Posting Process
	 

	 
	Payroll Dates and Salary Schedules
	 

	 
	Termination Pay - Initial Probationary Period vs Non Probationary
	 

	 
	Personnel Rules (if applicable)
	www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state_agencies/per.html 

	
	Collective Bargaining Agreement 

(if applicable)
	www.admin.state.nh.us/hr/sea.html

	
	
	

	Employee Name:
	
	

	Date of Hire:
	
	

	
	
	

	I have reviewed the material outlined in this New Hire/Transfer Orientation Check List.  

	
	 
	 

	
	Signature
	Date


